Business Aug 31, 2026

RQD Raises $74 Million After Clearing 69.5 Billion Shares

RQD Clearing secured a $74 million minority growth investment led by Bain Capital Tech Opportunities, with ABN AMRO Clearing Bank and Nyca Partners also participating. The 27 August 2026 announcement did not disclose RQD’s valuation, the investors’ ownership percentages or how much of the financing consists of new capital rather than purchases from existing shareholders.

The investment gives Bain exposure to a regulated layer of the US securities market that is difficult to reproduce. RQD does not operate the customer-facing investing application. It holds assets, maintains books and records, clears transactions and connects broker-dealers, investment advisers and foreign financial institutions to US equity and options markets.RQD says the money will fund expansion in North America, Asia and the Middle East, further development of its clearing platform and new work in digital assets and tokenization. The immediate business, however, remains conventional securities infrastructure. Its public product pages list US equities, options, exchange-traded funds and mutual funds, while the digital-asset custody model has yet to be described.

The Investment Does Not Provide A Valuation

Bain is acquiring a minority position, but the announcement leaves the transaction structure open. It does not state whether the investment has closed, whether Bain receives a board seat, how the $74 million is divided among the three investors or whether any existing holder sold shares.

That prevents a reliable valuation calculation. Dividing the investment by an assumed minority percentage would produce a number unsupported by the deal documents. The financing also should not be described as a Series B. RQD called its 2023 financing a Series A, but the new announcement uses the broader term minority growth investment.

ABN AMRO and Nyca are existing backers rather than new names on the shareholder list. They led RQD’s Series A in October 2023, when the company said it had been operating since 2021. Gentree Fund and Belvedere Strategic Capital remain identified as investors. Bain is the new lead investor in a group that already contains a bank active in US clearing and overnight market access.

Michael Sanocki, CEO of RQD Clearing, said the financing would let the firm pair fintech speed with institutional clearing and risk expertise. Bain partner Michael Grandfield pointed to the demand created as capital markets become more global, digital and continuous. Neither executive supplied financial results, client numbers or revenue growth.

RQD’s Volume Figures Cover Seven Months

RQD reported more than 543 million ledger transactions and approximately 515 million cleared equity transactions during the year-to-date period. Those equity transactions represented 69.5 billion shares, almost $2 trillion of notional value and what the company calculated as 2.43% of the National Market System equities market.

The announcement was published on 27 August but did not state the volume cutoff. The options figures show that the period is January through July. RQD reported 64.8 million options contracts and a 0.63% share. The Options Clearing Corporation’s official July report gives 2026 year-to-date average daily options volume of 70.82 million contracts. Across 145 trading days, that produces approximately 10.27 billion contracts, with RQD’s 64.8 million equal to 0.63%.

The same seven-month cutoff should therefore be applied to the equity statistics. The figures are substantial, but they are company-supplied operational measures rather than audited financial results. Ledger transactions are internal account events and should not be treated as additional market trades. The 515 million cleared equity transactions generated the 69.5 billion-share figure, while the ledger count measures activity recorded inside RQD’s system.

RQD’s options contracts represented $120.7 billion of premium and $3.93 trillion of notional exposure. That notional should not be added mechanically to equity notional to create a combined trading-volume claim. Options notional generally represents exposure to an underlying asset, while equity notional is the value of shares traded, so the two measures describe different risks.

The Clearing Licence Is The Main Barrier To Entry

RQD’s current FINRA BrokerCheck report identifies the firm under CRD number 134284 and SEC number 8-66826. It is registered with the SEC, 21 self-regulatory organizations and 53 US states and territories. The report says RQD holds or maintains funds or securities and provides clearing services for other broker-dealers.

The authorized activities include fully disclosed and omnibus clearing, securities clearance and settlement, prime brokerage and securities lending. RQD also states that it is a member of FINRA, OCC, DTC and NSCC and participates in the Securities Investor Protection Corporation. That combination of registrations, clearing memberships, capital and operating controls is the part a software company cannot recreate through an API alone.

Its technology proposition is still central. RQD uses a cloud-based ledger and offers real-time account data, paperless onboarding, funding, reporting and application programming interfaces. Yet the competitive field is moving in the same direction. Apex built its Ascend platform around a real-time ledger, and its new development tools target faster clearing and custody integration.

Winning a clearing mandate is operationally consequential because changing providers moves customer accounts, positions, tax records and settlement processes. Apex’s selection by Cash App Investing showed how much is at stake when a large retail platform changes its clearing provider. Bain is funding RQD to compete for more of those institutional relationships.

Six Disclosures Sit In The Predecessor Record

The BrokerCheck report lists six final regulatory disclosure events and no pending events. Most concern predecessor businesses recorded under the same CRD history, including Compass Professional Services and Volant. They should not be presented as six recent actions against RQD’s present clearing operation.

The most recent event was resolved in 2021. New York authorities fined Volant $30,000 over registration activity that predated approval in the state. The report says the firm is now registered. A separate 2020 Options Clearing Corporation matter involved net capital falling below a $2.5 million requirement for several days and a failure to notify OCC, resulting in a $5,000 fine.

The remaining matters date from 2006 to 2017 and involve predecessor registration, options-priority and supervisory issues. This history is relevant because regulatory records travel with the legal and CRD succession. It does not negate RQD’s current status: FINRA says the firm is not suspended, and the report shows no pending disclosure event.

Digital Asset Custody Is Still A Plan

RQD says part of the investment will strengthen its role as a custody infrastructure layer for digital assets and support tokenization. The announcement does not identify a launch date, supported blockchain, custody partner, wallet model or first tokenized security. It also does not say whether digital assets means native cryptocurrencies, stablecoins or securities represented on a blockchain.

The distinction has legal and operational consequences. Tokenized US securities can remain within broker-dealer and securities-custody rules, while direct custody of native crypto assets may require different licences, controls and customer disclosures. RQD’s current product pages and BrokerCheck activities remain focused on securities, and the release does not announce a live retail crypto custody service.

Tokenized securities provide the clearer near-term route. DTC is building a service that preserves legal ownership rights while representing assets on blockchain infrastructure, with limited production activity beginning in July and wider availability planned for October. Broker-dealers are also assembling end-to-end issuance, custody and settlement rails, including the tokenized equity framework developed by Dinari and tZERO.

RQD’s DTC membership and existing custody ledger give it a place in that transition, but the funding announcement is a statement of direction rather than evidence that a tokenized custody product is already operating. The next useful disclosures would be the asset type, regulatory entity, custody structure and first client deployment.

Bain Is Backing The Clearing Layer For Longer Trading Hours

RQD supports extended-hours access to US equities and is positioning its platform for 24-hour demand. The infrastructure around it has recently caught up. NSCC moved to 24-by-5 clearing in June, allowing overnight transactions to enter central clearing without waiting for the previous operating window.

ABN AMRO has been expanding the same access model. Its addition of Bruce Markets lets clients trade US equities from 8 p.m. to 4 a.m. Eastern Time, as detailed in FinanceFeeds’ examination of the clearing requirements behind overnight stock trading. Its renewed investment in RQD connects that distribution push with a clearing platform serving brokers and foreign institutions.

RQD’s planned expansion into Asia and the Middle East should be read in that context. The company is seeking more foreign institutions that want access to US markets. The announcement does not say RQD has received licences to clear domestic securities in Asian or Middle Eastern jurisdictions, and it should not be described as entering those local clearing markets until such approvals are identified.

The $74 million gives RQD capital to expand the platform, regulatory operations and client coverage. What Bain has backed is already measurable: a US broker-dealer that cleared 69.5 billion shares and 64.8 million options contracts in seven months. The digital-asset product, foreign-market footprint and value implied by the transaction remain the parts still to be disclosed.

 

LATEST NEWS